Dork Radio
Now playing:
In the mag...
Featuring Lewis Capaldi, Fontaines D.C., Ten Tonnes and more.
Order a copy
May 2019
Festivals

Here's what you need to make sure you watch on Coachella's live stream this weekend

With sets from across the festival being broadcast via YouTube, here's what you should set your alarm for.
Sign up or log in to follow artists
Published: 12:19 pm, April 12, 2019Words: Abigail Firth, Josh Williams, Stephen Ackroyd. Photos: Frances Beach, Sarah Louise Bennett.
Here's what you need to make sure you watch on Coachella's live stream this weekend

This weekend is special. The first installment of Coachella’s two part stand, YouTube will be broadcasting sets from across the festival almost-sort-of-live. That’s a lot of music you can gorge on, but with a hefty time difference those of us in the UK will need to be targeted in what we want to see. With many of the best sets taking place in the early hours when converted to BST, here’s ten we think you should stick in your calendar right now.

Friday 12th April

Childish Gambino (Channel 1 / 11:25pm PST Friday 12th April / 7:25am BST Saturday 13th April)

Not many artists on the planet are as exciting as Mr Donald Glover aka Childish Gambino at the moment and to quote the man himself, “Gambino is a mastermind”. Following the success of ‘This is America’, Glover rightfully takes his place at the top of the Coachella bill and if the reviews for his recent O2 shows are anything to go by, those in attendance are in for a treat. If these really are his last ever shows as Childish Gambino then we have all the ingredients for an iconic set. Plus, what better time to watch it than with your corn flakes in the morning? JW

The 1975 (Channel 1 / 9:35pm PST Friday 12th April / 5:35am BST Saturday 13th April)

Currently holding the title of 'the best big live show on the planet', The 1975's ascent to the upper reaches of festival royalty ends with a coronation at Reading & Leeds this August. Coachella is a pretty significant step along the way, though. With the band's second 'Music For Cars' installment 'Notes On A Conditional Form' expected to start rearing its head in a couple of months, who knows how much the set may change from here on out. SA

Here's what you need to make sure you watch on Coachella's live stream this weekend

Tierra Whack (Channel 2 / 7:25pm PST Friday 12th April / 3:25am BST Saturday 13th April)

If we were making a list of ‘the most exciting acts on the planet rn’, we’d be forced to install Tierra Whack right near the top. Following up on last year’s ‘Whack World’ project, she’s been dropping new bangers in 2019 like they’re too hot to hold on to. With a London show already locked in for June, that noise is only going to get louder in the UK, too. Half past three in the morning seems the perfect point for a quick preview, eh? SA

Kacey Musgraves (Channel 1 / 5:55pm PST Friday 12th April / 1:55am BST Saturday 13th April)

Kacey Musgraves is basically an Absolute Queen Of Everything. That’s not an especially outlandish statement. With a slew of plaudits and shiny things thrust in her direction over recent years, she’s exactly the kind of Really Very Good Thing we need to keep us going at nearly 2am UK time. SA

Saturday 13th April

Tame Impala (Channel 1 / 11:00pm PST Saturday 12th April / 7:00am BST Sunday 13th April)

Things are clearly cooking in Camp Kev right now. Mr Parker’s crew have dropped two new tracks over the past couple of weeks, and with a number of festival appearances booked in over the summer, plus a few UK and European dates starting to pop up, we can surely expect more very soon indeed. All the more reason to check in before the Match of the Day reruns to see if we get to hear anything else new. SA

Here's what you need to make sure you watch on Coachella's live stream this weekend

Billie Eilish (Channel 1 / 9:50pm PST Saturday 12th April / 5:50am BST Sunday 13th April)

Fresh off the back of her number one(!!!) debut ‘WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO?’, catch Pop Star Of The Moment Billie Eilish send the valley into a frenzy at her Coachella debut, topping the Outdoor Stage. Expect massive spiders, massive t-shirts, massive screams and massive tunes. ‘Bad Guy’ live is going to be mental, isn’t it? AF

Maggie Rogers (Channel 2 / 8:25pm PST Saturday 12th April / 4:25am BST Sunday 13th April)

Miss Rogers’ mum didn’t want her to go to Coachella as a young’en. Wonder what she’d say now her daughter is set to be one of the most fun acts of the weekend? The witchy feminist rock star’s (her words, not ours) live show is a proper spiritual experience, and with Florence Welch making an appearance on stage in London, and Lil Yachty in Atlanta, you never know who’ll pop up. AF

Guava Island, A Childish Gambino Film (Channel 1,2,3 / 5:00pm PST Saturday 12th April / 1:00am BST Sunday 13th April)

We’re not entirely 100% sure what Guava Island exactly is - bar the fact it’s a Donald Glover production, and also features Rihanna. Apparently it's a "tropical thriller" and was shot in Havana, Cuba last summer. It's apparently an hour long and centres around a musician putting on a festival. It's directed by Hiro Murai - who worked on Atlanta - and is written by Glover's brother, Stephen. It also features Letitia Wright - aka Shuri from Black Panther, which explains what she's been up to post snap. If you miss it, don't worry too much - it'll be on Amazon Prime after too. SA

Sunday 14th April
Here's what you need to make sure you watch on Coachella's live stream this weekend

Ariana Grande (Channel 1 / 10:35pm PST Sunday 12th April / 6:35am BST Monday 13th April)

On form, is Ari the biggest star on the planet today? Maybe. If not, she’s certainly on her way. Headlining one of the biggest festivals on the planet couldn’t harm her standing at the top of music’s AAA-list, either. A pop phenomenon that’s able to exist outside of those narrowly confined lines, she might just be the one act that you have to see this weekend. Up early for work on Monday morning, then? SA

Lizzo (Channel 2 / 7:40pm PST Sunday 13th April / 3:40am BST Monday 14th April)

Lizzo’s new album drops Really Very Soon Indeed, and the buzz couldn’t be louder for pop’s premiere flautist. Finally starting to kick up some stardust on the US publicity circuit, what the rest of us have known for years is finally starting to become public knowledge - Lizzo is the absolute best. SA

The full list of YouTube broadcast times for Coachella read:

Friday, April 12th:
4:15pm - Hurray for the Riff Raff (Channel 2)
4:15pm - Los Tucanes De Tijuana (3)
4:40pm - Juaz (3)
5:10pm - JPEGMAFIA (1)
5:40pm - Mon Laferte (2)
5:45pm - SG Lewis (3)
5:55pm - Kacey Musgraves (1)
6:25pm - Gorgon City (2)
6:30pm - Calypso Rose (3)
6:45pm - Jaden Smith (1)
7:20pm - DVSN (3)
7:25pm - Tierra Whack (2)
8:05pm - Polo & Pan (3)
8:30pm - BLACKPINK (1)
9:00pm - Rüfüs Du Sol (2)
9:30pm - Khruangbin (3)
9:35pm - The 1975 (1)
10:30pm - Janelle Monáe (1)
11:15pm - Charlotte Gainsbourg (2)
11:25pm - Childish Gambino (1)
11:30pm - Nora En Pure (3)
12:00 a.m.pm - DJ Snake (2)
12:05pm - Kayzo (3)

Saturday, April 13th:

4:15pm - ARIZONA (1)
4:15pm - Wallows (2)
4:15pm - Jambinai (3)
4:35pm - FKJ (3)
5:00pm - Guava Island, A Childish Gambino Film (1,2,3)
6:00pm - Mr. Eazi (2)
6:00pm - Steady Holiday (3)
6:30pm - The Interrupters (3)
6:40pm - Mac DeMarco (2)
7:05pm - Bazzi (1)
7:15pm - Clozee (3)
7:30pm - Sir (2)
7:50pm - J Balvin (1)
7:55pm - Virgil Abloh (2)
8:00pm - Bob Moses (3)
8:25pm - Maggie Rogers (2)
8:45pm - Weezer (1)
8:50pm - Gryffin (3)
9:15pm - Christine and the Queens (2)
9:30pm - Four Tet (3)
9:50pm - Billie Eilish (1)
10:15pm - Juice WRLD (2)
10:30pm - Parcels (3)
11:00pm - Tame Impala (1)
11:05pm - Wiz Khalifa (2)
11:15pm - Smino (3)
11:55pm - Kid Cudi (2)
12:00 a.m.pm - Little Simz (3)
12:30pm - Bassnectar (1)

Sunday, April 14th:

4:15pm - Emily King (1)
4:15pm - Mansionair (2)
4:15pm - Burna Boy (3)
5:00pm - Alice Merton (2)
5:05pm - Pusha-T (1)
5:55pm - Bad Bunny (1)
5:55pm - Unknown Mortal Orchestra (2)
6:50pm - Blood Orange (1)
6:50pm - Dermont Kennedy (2)
7:40pm - Lizzo (2)
9:00pm - YG (3)
9:15pm - Sofi Tukker (2)
9:50pm - Dillon Francis (3)
10:05pm - CHVRCHES (2)
10:35pm - Ariana Grande (1)
11:10pm - NGHTMRE (3)


Give all this a try

No Rome has dropped a brand new track, 'Cashmoney'
Listen

No Rome has dropped a brand new track, 'Cashmoney'

It's the first track to arrive from a new EP, 'Crying in the Prettiest Places'.
Watch: The 1975's Matty Healy has been playing 'Notes On A Conditional Form' cut 'Jesus christ 2005 god bless america' in the US
Listen

Watch: The 1975's Matty Healy has been playing 'Notes On A Conditional Form' cut 'Jesus christ 2005 god bless america' in the US

Check out the intimate, acoustic track as performed at some small US radio 'thingys'.
Sam Fender has announced his debut album 'Hypersonic Missiles'
Incoming!

Sam Fender has announced his debut album 'Hypersonic Missiles'

Seemed as good an excuse as any to get the BRITs Critics' Choice winner on the blower to tell us more.
Another Sky have dropped a brand new single, 'The Cracks'
Watch

Another Sky have dropped a brand new single, 'The Cracks'

The second track from a forthcoming EP, 'Life Was Coming In Through The Blinds', you can check it out now.
Like this? Subscribe to Dork and get every issue delivered direct to your door anywhere on the planet.
CONTACT PRIVACY ADVERTISE

© 2018 The Bunker Publishing